Posted by: Kevan Manwaring | January 31, 2010

words, words, words

31st January

Making the most of a precious window of opportunity (a window amidst the marking) I’ve been working flat out finishing off my screenplay this week  – and sent it off yesterday. Can’t say more than that!

I have other play projects in the pipeline as well…

My novel class on Tuesdays is going well – I look forward to resuming work on mine this May when I’m writer-in-resident at El Gouna, Egypt. Starting a raft of new classes for Wiltshire College from next week. Along with my work for the Open University and the Community Learning Service, I’m a busy bunny.

All work and no play can make Jack a dull boy, so this weekend I was determined to have some fun. Went to a fabulous event at the Chapel last night – Coco Boudoir. Since my friend Svanur has taken over running the venue it has really blossomed – and, by the looks of the place yesterday evening, has turned into the place to be  – full house, great atmosphere. There was a swish crowd there, dressed in their glad rags. Top hats and corsets. Outstanding!

Looking forward to the next Garden of Awen, next Sunday 7th Feb, Chapel Arts Centre, Bath, where I’ll be launching my new collection, The Immanent Moment. The theme is ‘The Thorny Rose’, love, and we have superb line-up including Matt Sage, singer-song-writer from Oxford; Bristol slam-winner Rosemary Dun; Wayland the Skald, mighty smith of words; Widsith & Deor, story theatre; Saravian, the girl with the voice from the other side; and Jack Dean, the new Bard of Bath.

Walking along the Kennet and Avon today, saw not snowdrops – but, can you believe it, daffodils!

Here’s to Spring – bring it on!

PS if you hungering for the sun as well, you might want to check out the Skyros blog – where I’ll be running writing workshops late summer http://theskyrosblog.blogspot.com/

Responses

  1. Rock and Roll …

    Brother Bard on a Bike …

    This is K. Peddlar Bridges … Biker Poet laureate …

    Here in the States we have a real poetry Movemrnt going on …

    I the National Secretary of the Highway Poets Mcc … I am a Senior Bkerpoery Columnist for The Connecticut Cruise News Newpaper. If you have any Bikerpoetry I would interested in reading it for posible publishing in one of my column … as well as a possible spotlight on yourself …

    If ou are interested in finding out moreinformatiion on this and what the Bikerpoets / Biker Bards are up to in the States … please let me know … Best Miles and Verses to You … Peddlar …

    • Peddlar,

      would also be great to find out more about what you guys get up to – love the sound of the Highway Poets Mcc

      revs,

      Kevan (biker tag: Silverwolf)

      http://www.kevanmanwaring.co.uk author, storyteller, teacher


Leave a Reply

Categories

